The Wing Chun Kung-Fu School of Clapham

Call Today



Siu Nim Tao

Siu Nim Tao, the first form, can be translated as the ‘Little Idea’.  It is a very important, if not the most important form, of the syllabus.  The form reflects the foundation of the system.  The foundation is based on the structure.  Structure takes place in the form of body mechanics, concepts and principles, and a mindset ie a structured approach and way of learning.  From here, the student will learn correct posture, leg and hand positioning, breathing and concentration.

Chum Kiu

Chum Kiu, the second form, can be translated as ‘Searching Bridge’.  At this level, the student would have grasped some fundamentals from the first form, hence chum kiu is a development of Siu Nim Tao.  Now, the student learns how to use their stance to move and turn.

The student also learns how to generate power through their ‘Yiu Ma’ or waist and kicking is introduced.  In Kung Fu, when two arms come into contact, two arms touching is like a bridge that is formed.  The aim and intent is to get pass that bridge, hence to get to the other side ie getting through to your opponent.  The second form in essence addresses this in more depth.

Biu Tze

Biu Tze, the third form, can be translated as ‘Darting Fingers’.  Biu Tze gives the understanding of a fierce and deadly art form, and this is true. Although, this art form is now openly taught in many Wing Chun schools around the world ( but not in all ), it was, back in the days of old, taught to those “inside the door”, meaning it wasn’t taught freely to any student. The Wing Chun School strikes the balance – Biu Tze is part of the curriculum, as the complete system is taught. However, a responsibility is on our instructors not to give a loaded weapon to someone not mature enough to handle it.

Chi Sau

Chi Sau or translated as ‘sticking hands’ is a training method used in the Wing Chun system to increase the sensitivity in one’s arms, and monitor your partners energy whilst practising using a controlled flow of techniques. This, however, can only be achieved once a certain level has been attained through practicing the basics.

The Wing Chun School does not over-estimate the importance of Chi Sau, nor do we underestimate it. As a result, The Wing Chun School has four levels in Chi Sau training.

  • Bong Lap Sau Chi Sau
  • Dan Chi Sau (single sticking hands)
  • Pak Sau Chi Sau
  • Poon Sau Lok Sau (double sticking hands)

Mok Yahn Johng

The Mok Yahn johng or translated as the ‘Wooden Dummy’ is a Wing Chun training apparatus used for correct hand and leg position training.  As illustrated by Great Grandmaster Ip Man in the picture.  Although, it can be used as a conditioning tool, it’s main purpose is not to smash your arms into it.

More so, the form comprised of seven sections contains a wealth of information from a technical as well as conceptual stand point.  On a more advanced level, the student will learn how to use the correct energy, timing and striking force on the dummy.

Lok Dim Boon Gwan

Lok Dim Boon Kwun or translated as the six and one half point pole form. This form requires tremendous strength from the whole body. Therefore, this form will develop the back, shoulders, triceps, biceps, forearm, wrist and legs. The stance does not use the Yee Jee Kim Yeung Ma.  The Say Ping Ma – ‘quadralateral stance’ and Ding Jee Ma – ‘T stance’ are used to wield the pole.

The Lok Dim Boon Kwun form is a series of seven moves, with one of the seven being the half-point, hence it’s name.  The power when wielding this weapon is concentrated at the point with flexible force, and for this reason few students of Wing Chun can master it, let alone even bother to take up learning it. Chi Kwun – ‘sticking pole’ drills are also taught to apply what has been taught against the assailant with the same weapon. This further builds up more strength and power in the student.

Baat Jaarm Dou

Baat Jaarm Dou Faat or translated as ‘eight chopping knives’ technique.  This advanced knives form is called ‘eight chopping knives technique’ because there are eight sections to the form and weapons are ‘choppers’ – they chop. There are eight methods in the form to utilise the weapon.

Can We Help You?